Reset Search
 

 

Article

KB25867 - How can I enable, disable or suppress Pulse Secure Desktop client install or upgrade from the Pulse Connect Secure?

« Go Back

Information

 
Last Modified Date7/31/2015 11:10 PM
Synopsis
This article provides information on how to enable, disable or suppress Pulse Connect Secure install or upgrades from the Pulse Connect Secure device.
Problem or Goal
The ability to enable, disable or suppress Pulse Connect Secure Desktop client install or upgrades from the PCS device can be useful in the following cases:
  • One typical method of establishing a VPN connection is for users to browse to the PCS server’s Web portal, login, and then launch Pulse Secure Desktop client from the web page. (This method is common in environments that used the Network Connect client.) However, when a client tries to log in to the web portal, they are receiving error: "The server configuration requires the application to be pre-installed on your machine."

    User-added image
 
  • When a client has an older version of the Pulse Secure Desktop client which was initially rolled out to their client machine, but the PCS device has a newer version of Pulse Secure Desktop client, users may be prompted to upgrade the Pulse Secure Desktop client version. This will occur regardless if Pulse Secure Desktop client was launched by connecting directly to Pulse Secure Desktop client or if a web browser was used to launch it. See example below:

​Note: The default Pulse Secure Desktop client version will change if there was a recent server side upgrade was performed, but you may choose to re-activate your previous Pulse Secure Desktop version if you are using the PCS to deploy Pulse Secure Desktop installations or upgrades.
Cause
Solution
In the PCS administrator console, select Maintenance > System > Options: Enable web installation and automatic upgrade of Pulse Secure clients to allow the Pulse Secure Desktop client to receive install or upgrade prompts from the PCS device. This will be the case regardless if Pulse Secure Desktop client is launched directly or if a web browser is used to launch Pulse Secure Desktop client. If this option is disabled, then end users will not receive an upgrade prompt from the PCS device.

User-added image



 
Related Links
Attachment 1 
Created ByData Deployment

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?


   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255