Reset Search
 

 

Article

KB44299 - Removing Work Profile from Android 10 managed by Pulse Workspace from Google Pixel device

« Go Back

Information

 
Last Modified Date10/31/2019 12:44 PM
Synopsis
This article details the steps required to remove Work Profile from Android 10 managed by Pulse Workspace from Google Pixel device
Problem or Goal
When the Android device which is managed by Pulse Workspace EMM and running with Android 9 OS is upgraded to Android 10 OS, we are seeing the crash in Settings App and Pulse Secure client App as shown below :

User-added image

User-added image

Due to the continuous crash, user may not be able to remove the Work Profile from the Settings to continue using the device.
Cause
Pulse secure is working on collaboration with Google to resolve the issue.
Solution
Pulse secure will update the KB once we have an fix and ETA on the fix.

In the meantime, below are the workarounds which the mobile user can do to come out of this conundrum and continue using their device

1. If the device running with Android 9 is already enrolled with Pulse Workspace, then firstly remove the Work Profile which can be done by either Admin or end-user and then upgrade the device OS to Android 10 and do the fresh enrollment with Pulse Workspace using the latest 7.2.4 Pulse client available in the Play Store.

2. If the device upgrade from Android 9 to Android 10 is already done with device already enrolled with Pulse Workspace, make sure that after the upgrade is finished, the end-user opens the Settings App first and then open the Pulse Secure client App. This step will ensure that end-user will not see the crashes anymore and continue using the device.

3. If the device upgrade from Android 9 to Android 10 is already done with device already enrolled with Pulse Workspace and user already encountering the crash, then only way is to remove the Work Profile manually from the device by the end-user by following any of the below two methods: 
  • Install the Test DPC App from the Google Play Store and open the Setup Test DPC App to delete the existing Work Profile managed by Pulse. Once the Work Profile is removed, end-user can perform fresh enrollment with Pulse Workspace and continue using the device.
User-added image

User-added image

User-added image
 
  • Open the Settings App info and search “Accounts” in it and delete the existing Work Profile managed by Pulse. Once the Work Profile is removed, end-user can perform fresh enrollment with Pulse Workspace and continue using the device.
User-added image

User-added image
User-added image
User-added image
Related Links
Attachment 1 
Created Byjai laisram

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?


   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255